Classics 8 | Dance of the Seasons

Classics 8 | Dance of the Seasons

Jun 01, 2019 08:00 PM
Civic Center Music Hall
Thelma Gaylord Performing Arts Theatre

Buy tickets

Presented By OKC Phil

Alexander Mickelthwate, conductor
Gregory Lee, violin

Vivaldi   The Four Seasons
Brahms   Symphony No. 1 in C minor

Music can come to life not only when played as a standalone piece, but also different shadings are revealed when played opposite another work.

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, features the baroque tone poem, a renowned masterpiece featuring concertmaster Gregory Lee. It gives musical life to the changing sounds of the seasons, from twittering birds, to dogs barking, from twirling snowflakes to the oppression of the heat of summer.

Next to Vivaldi, Brahms Symphony No. 1, one of the most beloved works in the 19th Century, features the musical impression of enormous architectural breath. The combination of Vivaldi’s Italian, light hearted vision, beside Brahms’ passionate, deeply rooted Germanic score, give the program a unique and fresh way to experience these contrasting works.